Two More Audiobooks

August was an exciting month – I was called in by the amazing Deyan Audio to read 2 non-fiction books.

First was Whateverland: Learning to Live Here by Alexis Stewart (yes, Martha’s daughter) and her former radio co-host Jennifer Koppelman Hutt.  It’s kinda like random funny (yet true) advice columns all about life, from food and eating (“Does Talking to Pop Tarts Mean You’re Crazy?”) to fashion and grooming (“The Devil Wore Palazzo Pants”) to cleaning and organizing (“Not a Hoarder, Still a Slob”).  I read Jennifer’s “voice” throughout and was blessed by her point of view on many things.  Don’t know when it will be available on Audible.com – but I’ll be sure to post it here.  (Please be advised the language is PG on this – for my friends who may not want to hear me saying that stuff.)

The 2nd was Remembering the Music, Forgetting the Words: Travels with Mom in the Land of Dementia by Kate Whouley.  An incredibly beautiful book.  Especially poignant after this springtime of loss (Grandma, Jack, Daisy, Ruth).  And some of the similarities between her mom’s condition and my grandparents was eerily similar (even down to the name of the place they ended up staying).  Again, I’ll be sure to post when it’s available on Audible.com. The paperback comes out later this month. Her humor and compassion come thru on every page.

Thanks again to Deyan Audio and my engineer Jeff.  Being in the studio is my happy place.

Leave a comment